SC is the International Conference for
High Performance Computing, Networking,
Storage and Analysis

• Overview• Schedule• Awards• Birds-of-a-Feather• Disruptive Technologies• Doctoral Showcase• Event Maps• Masterworks• Panels• Papers• Posters• Scientific Visualization Showcase• State of the Practice• Student Cluster Competition• Tutorials• Workshops


IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award

The Sidney Fernbach award, established in memory of high performance computing pioneer Sidney Fernbach, is awarded by the IEEE Computer Society. It is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in the application of high performance computers using innovative approaches. This year’s recipient is Cleve Moler, a mathematician and computational scientist specializing in numerical analysis.

In 1985, Dr. Moler joined Intel to co-found the Supercomputing Division and produce the first commercial parallel computer line, the Intel iPSC, whose development led to the Paragon and to ASCI Red.During his years as a professor of Mathematics at the University of New Mexico, Dr. Moler developed packages of mathematical software for computational science and engineering. These packages eventually formed the basis for MATLAB, a high-level technical computing environment. Cleve Moler is also the developer of the LINPACK and EISPACK scientific subroutine libraries. The award includes a certificate and $2,000 honorarium.

ACM - IEEE Computer Society Ken Kennedy Award

The Ken Kennedy Award is awarded jointly by the ACM and the IEEE Computer Society. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to programmability or productivity in computing. Recipients have also shown a deep commitment to community service or mentoring programs. The award includes a $5,000 honorarium.

This year’s winner is Susan L. Graham, a computer science professor at the University of California, Berkeley. Her research examines human-computer interaction, programming systems and high performance computing. As a participant in the Berkeley UNIX project, Graham and her students built the Berkeley Pascal system and the program profiling tool, gprof. Graham’s work has led to the development of a variety of interactive tools that enhance programmer productivity. She developed new implementation methods for programming languages, allowing for improved software performance.

IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award

The Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award, presented by the IEEE Computer Society, honors the memory of Seymour Cray, an electrical engineer and pioneering supercomputer architect. This award recognizes individuals whose work has had a significant impact on the supercomputing industry, and whose innovative contributions best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray. It includes a crystal memento, certificate and $10,000 honorarium.

This year’s recipient is Chuck Seitz, a designer of innovative computing and communication systems. His work has exploited asynchrony and concurrency to achieve performance at the very limits of available technology. Seitz is also known for creating new disciplines of digital design and for instilling these approaches in a generation of students and co-workers. In 1994, Chuck led a team that founded Myricom, a company dedicated to making the high-performance interconnect and switching equipment used in multicomputers available as a commercial product.

ACM Gordon Bell Prize

The ACM Gordon Bell Prize Committee selected the paper “First principles calculation of electronic states of a silicon nanowire with 100,000 atoms on the K computer” by Yukihiro Hasegawa et al. for the Sustained Performance Prize. Dr. Hasegawa and his colleagues achieved more than 3.0 petaflops in simulations of a silicon nanowire.

The paper on “Petascale phase-field simulation for dendritic solidification on the Tsubame 2.0 supercomputer” by Takashi Shimokawabe et al. was selected for the Scalability/Time to Solution Prize. Dr. Shimokawabe and his colleagues achieved more than 2.0 petaflops by making very effective use of GPU accelerators.

Because of the unusually high quality of all of the ACM Gordon Bell Prize finalists, the Committee took the unusual step of awarding Honorable Mentions to the remaining three finalists papers: “Atomistic nanoelectronics device engineering with sustained performances up to 1.44 PFlop/s” by Mathieu Luisier et al., “Petaflop biofluidics simulations on a two million-core system” by Simone Melchionna et al., and “A new computational paradigm in multiscale simulations: Application to brain blood flow" by Leopold Grinberg et al.

The ACM Gordon Bell Prize Committee applauds all five papers as exemples of the tremendous progress being made in computational science and engineering and scientific computing.

Best Paper

Winners of the Best Paper Award were John Salmon, Mark Moraes, Ron Dror and David Shaw for their paper entitled “Parallel Random Numbers: As Easy As 1, 2, 3.”

Winners of the Best Student Paper were Wesley Kendall, Jingyuan Wang, Melissa Allen, Tom Peterka, Jian Huang, David Erickson for their paper entitled “Simplified Parallel Domain Traversal.”

Best Poster

Winners of the Best Poster Award were Richard Barrett, Michael Heroux, Paul Lin, Courtenay Vaughan and Alan Williams for “Mini-applications: Vehicles for Co-Design.”

The Best Student Poster was awarded in the ACM Student Research Competition. The first place winner was Vladimir V. Ufimtsev from University of Nebraska-Omaha for “A Scalable Group Testing Based Algorithm for Finding D-Highest Betweenness Centrality Vertices in Large Scale Networks.” The second place winner was Sam Ade Jacobs from Texas A&M University for “From Days to Seconds: Scalable Parallel Algorithm for Motion Planning.” The third place winner was Ehsan Totoni from University of Illinois for “Optimizing All-to-All Algorithm for PERCS Network Using Simulation.”

George Michael Memorial HPC Ph.D. Fellowships

In memory of George Michael, one of the founding fathers of the SC Conference series, this award honors exceptional Ph.D. students throughout the world whose focus areas are on high performance computing, networking, storage, and analysis. ACM, the IEEE Computer Society, and the SC Conference sponsor this award. Winners from last year presented their results in a technical session during the conference.

SC11 Winners are Ignacio Laguna from Purdue University and Xinyu Que from Auburn University.

Honorable Mention awards went to Leonardo Arturo Bautista Gomez from Tokyo Institute of Technology and Michael J. Duchene from University of Notre Dame.

Student Cluster Competition

SC11 again featured the Student Cluster Competition as an opportunity to showcase student expertise in a friendly yet spirited competition. Teams of undergraduates competed to build a small cluster on the SC exhibit floor and race to demonstrate the greatest sustained performance across a series of applications. Held in collaboration with the Communities Program, the Student Cluster Competition is designed to introduce the next generation of students to the high performance computing community.

The Overall Winner was National Tsinghua University from Hsinchu, Taiwan.

The winner for Highest Linpack value was Nizhni Novgorod State University from Russia.

   Sponsors    ACM    IEEE